☰ In this section

Champion of Justice Awards

Champion of Justice Awards are bestowed upon those individuals who -- through legislative, journalistic or humanitarian pursuits -- have staunchly preserved or defended the constitutional rights of American citizens and have endeavored to ensure justice and due process for persons accused of crime.

Where available, click on a recipient's name to watch his or her acceptance remarks.

Award Categories

Legislative Award

Back to top 

2010 Sen. Rodney Ellis (TX Legislature)
2009 Rep. Gail Chasey (NM Legislature)
2008 Rep. John D. Conyers, Jr. (D-MI)
2008 Sen. Arlen Specter (R-PA)
2005 Rep. Robert C. "Bobby" Scott (D-VA)
2003 Rep. William Delahunt (D-MA)
1999 State Sen. Ernie Chambers (NE Legislature)
1999 Rep. Barney Frank (D-MA)
1998 Rep. Joseph M. McDade (R-PA)
1996 Maury Maverick, Jr. (TX Legislature)
1996 U.S. Senator Mark Hatfield (R-OR)
1996 U.S. Senator Paul Simon (D-IL)
1996 Rep. Patricia Schroeder (D-CO)
1995 Rep. John C. Conyers (D-MI)
1994 Rep. Don Edwards (D-CA)
1992 Rep. Harley Staggers (D-WV)

Legal Award

Back to top 

2018 Christopher Wellborn Charleston, DC
2018 Malika Saada Saar Washington, DC
2017 Cynthia W. Roseberry Washington, DC
2017 Jerome F. Buting Brookfield, WI
2014 Rick Jones  New York, NY
2012 Anthony Romero New York, NY
2012 Gerald Kogan Tallahassee, FL
2010 George P. Parker, Jr. San Antonio, TX
2008 Terence F. MacCarthy Chicago, IL
2000 Judge Frank M. Johnson, Jr. Montgomery, AL
1999 Arthur Kinoy Montclair, NJ
1999 Gareth Peirce London, England
1999 Allen Chipperfield Jacksonville, FL
1998 Beth Krulewitch Denver, CO
1998 Judge Stephen Reinhardt Los Angeles, CA
1994 Justice William J. Brennan, Jr. Washington, DC

Civic / Humanitarian Award

Back to top 

2019 Stevie Wonder Los Angeles, CA
2018 Michelle Alexander New York, NY
2010 Meagan M. Gillette San Antonio, TX
2010 Leslie Sara Hyman San Antonio, TX
2007 Mike Farrell San Francisco, CA
2006 Janet Reno Miami, FL
2005 Wilbert Rideau Baton Rouge, LA
2005 George H. Kendall New York, NY
2004 Élise Groulx-Diggs Montreal, Canada
2003 Bob Balaban New York, NY
2003 Alan Buchman New York, NY
2003 Erik Jensen New York, NY
2003 Jessica Blank New York, NY
2003 President Vicente Fox Quesada Mexico
2002 James S. Liebman New York, NY
2002 Gov. George Ryan Illinois
2001 Julie Stewart Washington, DC
2000 Bianca Jagger New York, NY
2000 Susan McDougal Little Rock, AR
2000 Professor Speedy Rice Spokane, WA
2000 United Colors of Benetton Italy
2000 Oliviero Toscani Italy
2000 Ken Shulman Boston, MA
1999 Harry T. Moore Mims, FL
1999 Melba Pattillo Beals San Francisco, CA
1998 Frederic Whitehurst La Plata, MD
1997 Professor Julian Bond Washington, DC
1997 Bud Welch Oklahoma City, OK
1994 Sister Helen Prejean New Orleans, LA

Journalism Award

Back to top 

2017 The Marshall Project, Neil Barsky, Founder The Marshall Project 
2016 Radley Balko Various
2009 Juju Chang 20/20 
2009 Shana Druckerman 20/20 
2009 Robin Demonia Birmingham News 
2009 Bob Blalock Birmingham News 
2009 Eddie Lard Birmingham News 
2009 Joey Kennedy Birmingham News 
2005 Flynn McRoberts Chicago Tribune 
2005 Steve Mills Chicago Tribune 
2005 Maurice Possley Chicago Tribune 
2001 Max B. Baker Forth Worth Star Telegram 
2000 Ofra Bikel PBS Frontline 
1999 Ken Armstrong Chicago Tribune 
1999 Maurice Possley Chicago Tribune 
1999 Bill Moushey Pittsburgh Post Gazette 
1998 Kirk Makin Toronto Globe & Mail 
1998 Andrew Schneider Seattle Post-Intelligencer 
1998 Mike Barber Seattle Post-Intelligencer 
1998 Henry Weinstein LA Times 
1997 Dorothy Rabinowitz The Wall Street Journal 
1997 Bob Herbert The New York Times 
1997 Anthony Lewis Author, Gideon's Trumpet 
1997 David Protess Journalism Professor, NWU 
1996 Molly Ivins Fort Worth Star-Telegram 
1995 Mark Curriden The Chattanooga Times 
1995 Dennis Cauchon USA Today 
1995 Sam Meddis USA Today 
1993 Steve Berry The Orlando Sentinel 
1993 Jeff Brazil The Orlando Sentinel 
1992 Mary Pat Flaherty The Pittsburgh Press 
1992 Andrew Schneider The Pittsburgh Press 
1992 Frank Devine CBS News, 60 Minutes 
1992 Steve Kroft CBS News, 60 Minutes 
1992 Harry Radliffe CBS News, 60 Minutes 

Legal Education Award

Back to top 

2011 Deryl Dantzler Macon, GA

Rights Restoration Award

Back to top 

2018 Gov. Nathan Deal Atlanta, GA
2018 Sally Q. Yates Atlanta, GA
Advertisement Advertise with Us

In This Section

Advertisement Advertise with Us