☰ In this section

Champion of Public Defense Award

About the Award

The Champion of Public Defense Award recognizes a group or individual for outstanding efforts in making positive changes to a local, county, state, or national indigent defense system through legislation, litigation, or other methods.1 

 1 The award was named the Champion of Indigent Defense Award until February 20, 2016.

Past Recipients

2019 Civil Rights Corps Washington, DC
2019 San Francisco Public Defender’s Office San Francisco, CA
2016 Alexander Bunin Houston, TX
2013 Bruce Jacob Gulfport, FL
2011 Justice Michael Cherry Carson City, NV
2011 Bennett H. Brummer Miami, FL
2009 Robert L. Spangenberg Boston, MA
2008 Marshal J. Hartman Chicago, IL
2007 Erwin W. Lewis Frankfort, KY
2006 Robert Boruchowitz Seattle, WA
2005 Prof. Norman Lefstein Indianapolis, IN
2004 Patricia Puritz Washington, DC
2003 Gary Parker Columbus, GA
2002 Norman L. Reimer New York, NY
2001 Mary Ann Tally Fayetteville, NC

Nominate a Possible Recipient

To nominate a group or individual, please provide a short [1-2 page] summary of: the problems that existed in the relevant public defense system, the efforts made by the nominee to improve the system (i.e., coalitions formed, legislation proposed, task forces created, litigation efforts, etc.), the number of years nominee has been involved in efforts to improve public defense, and the changes that have been made in the system as a result of the nominee's efforts.

Advertisement Advertise with Us

In This Section

Advertisement Advertise with Us