☰ In this section

Robert C. Heeney Memorial Award

The prestigious Robert C. Heeney Memorial Award is given annually to the one criminal defense attorney who best exemplifies the goals and values of the Association and the legal profession. The award was established in 1981 to honor NACDL’s 18th President, the late Robert C. Heeney, of Rockville, MD.

Where available, click on the award recipient's name to watch their acceptance remarks.

2018 Drew Findling Atlanta, GA
2017 George H. Newman Philadelphia, PA
2016 Rick Jones New York, NY
2015 Peter Goldberger  Ardmore, PA
2014 Cynthia Eva Hujar Orr  San Antonio, TX
2013 Bonnie Hoffman Lessburg, VA
2012 Vicki Young Palo Alto, California
2011 William R. Gallagher Cincinnati, OH
2010 Ellen S. Podgor Gulfport, FL
2009 Martin S. Pinales Cincinnati, OH
2008 Jeffrey L. Fisher Stanford, CA
2007 Jim E. Lavine Houston, TX
2006 Joshua Dratel New York, NY
2005 Lisa M. Wayne Denver, CO
2004 J. Cheney Mason Orlando, FL
2003 James A. H. Bell Knoxville, TN
2002 John Wesley Hall, Jr. Little Rock, AR
2001 Carmen D. Hernandez Washington, DC
2000 Barbara E. Bergman Albuquerque, NM
1999 Irwin H. Schwartz Seattle, WA
1998 Lawrence S. Goldman New York, NY
1997 Bruce M. Lyons Ft. Lauderdale, FL
1996 Barry C. Scheck New York, NY
1995 Albert J. Krieger Miami, FL
1994 Judy Clarke Spokane, WA
1993 Gerald B. Lefcourt New York, NY
1992 Barry Tarlow Los Angeles, CA
1991 Gerald H. Goldstein  San Antonio, TX
1990 Michael Bender Denver, CO
1989 Neal R. Sonnett Miami, FL
1988 James M. Russ Orlando, FL
1987 Nancy Hollander Albuquerque, NM
1986 Dennis N. Balske Portland, OR
1985 Jeffrey S. Weiner Miami, FL
1984 Ephraim Margolin  San Francisco, CA
1983 Alan Ellis Mill Valley, CA
1982 William L. Summers Cleveland, OH
1981 Robert C. Heeney Rockville, MD
Advertisement Advertise with Us

In This Section

Advertisement Advertise with Us