News Release

2008-09 Officers and Newly Elected Board of Directors Members Sworn in at Annual Meeting

NACDL elected and swore in its new Officers and Board of Directors members at its annual conference. Amicus Committee Co-Chair and Stanford Law School Professor Jeffery Fisher was awarded the 28th annual Robert C. Heeney Memorial Award, NACDL's most prestigious honor. Past Presidents James Shellow and Jim Willis were awarded Lifetime Achievement Awards. Marshall J. Hartmann was awarded the Champion of Indigent Defense Award. Eighth Circuit U.S. Court of Appeals Judge Morris S. Arnold was awarded the Judicial Recognition Award.

Election Results are below:

Executive Committee 

Board of Directors 

Board of Directors Members Richard Jaffe and Penelope Strong were selected to serve on the Executive Committee.

Featured Products


NACDL Communications Department

The National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers is the preeminent organization advancing the mission of the criminal defense bar to ensure justice and due process for persons accused of crime or wrongdoing. A professional bar association founded in 1958, NACDL's many thousands of direct members in 28 countries – and 90 state, provincial and local affiliate organizations totaling up to 40,000 attorneys – include private criminal defense lawyers, public defenders, military defense counsel, law professors and judges committed to preserving fairness and promoting a rational and humane criminal justice system.