2018 Champion of Public Defense Award

The NACDL Public Defense Committee Invites Nominations

for the   

2018 Champion of Public Defense Award 

The NACDL Champion of Public Defense Award recognizes an individual or group for exceptional efforts in making positive changes to a local, county, state or federal public defense system. Although the outstanding direct, individual representation of every defendant is one of NACDL’s foremost goals, this award is intended to highlight efforts toward systemic advances through legislation, litigation or other strategies.

The Champion of Public Defense Award is presented annually at an NACDL quarterly meeting. 

Nomination Guidelines

Nominations may be made by any individual or group and must include:

  • the name, title, address and phone number of the nominated person/group
  • the name, title, address and phone number of the nominating person/group
  • a summary, not to exceed two (2) single-spaced pages, of:
    • the problems that exist(ed) in the relevant public defense system
    • the efforts made by the nominee to improve the system (e.g., coalitions fotmed,
      legislation proposed, task forces created, litigation initiated)
    • the number of years the nominee has been involved in efforts to improve
      public defense and a brief history of the nominee's career
    • any changes that have been made in the system as a result of the nominee's efforts. 

Any supplementary materials - such as brochures, reports, or news articles - also may be
included. Unlimited letters of support may be submitted. Nominations must be postmarked
or emailed by May 1, 2018, and sent to: NACDL Champion of Public Defense Award,
Attn: Bonnie Hoffman, 1660 L Street, N.W., 12th Floor, Washington, DC 20036
or bhoffman@nacdl.org (subject line: Champion of Public Defense Award).

Eligibility and Selection

The recipient shall be selected by the co-chairs of the NACDL Public Defense
Committee upon the recommendation of the Public Defense Award Subcommittee.
It is not necessary that the nominee be a lawyer; non-lawyer advocates and
reformers will be considered. The co-chairs of the Public Defense Committee and the
members of the Public Defense Award Subcommittee are not eligible to receive
this award but may submit nominations.

In This Section

Advertisement Advertise with Us