Search Results

74 results found for Informal Opinion in search category NACDL Website Showing Page 1of 7 Pages: 1 234567

Informal Opinion

Informal Opinion Jeffrey L. Fisher and Kendall Turner March 2013 43 The Retroactivity of Padilla After Chaidez v. United States On March 31, 2010, the Supreme Court held in Padilla v. Kentucky that a criminal defendant receives ineffective assistance of counsel when her lawyer fails to a

By Jeffrey L. Fisher and Kendall Turner in March 2013
Category: The Champion Magazine
U.S. v. Daugerdas: A Cautionary Tale About Investigating Jurors (Informal Opinion)
Despite the obvious benefits to the attorney, there are some real perils associated with investigating or researching prospective jurors
By Thaddeus Hoffmeister in December 2012
Category: The Champion Magazine
Why the NDAA Will Substantially Reduce, If Not Eliminate Altogether, International Cooperation With Respect to Counterterrorism (Informal Opinion)
Many people have ventured an interpretation of the National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA) – or thrown up their hands, protesting that the Act’s vague and confusing terminology defies a straightforward or universal construction. However, what matters is not the standard or reasonable interpretation of the NDAA, or that which is constitutionally or statutorily defensible. What matters is the most extreme incarnation, since that is where anti-terrorism measures inexorably lead.
By Joshua L. Dratel in March 2012
Category: The Champion Magazine
Minorities Still Burdened With Mandatory Minimum Sentences (Informal Opinion)
Minorities Still Burdened With Mandatory Minimum Sentences (Informal Opinion)
By Jack King in December 2011
Category: The Champion Magazine
Informal Opinion

Informal Opinion Joshua L. Dratel October 2011 63 Last month on the 10th anniversary of the devastating attacks of September 11, 2011, all Americans reflected with sadness and a renewed sense of national purpose on the lives lost on that dreadful day. As criminal defense lawyers, we know that the en

By Joshua L. Dratel in October 2011
Category: The Champion Magazine
Informal Opinion

Informal Opinion Joseph Margulies December 2000 46   Memories of an Execution On Thursday, February 24, 2000, at 6:00 p.m., the State of Texas executed my client of eleven years, Betty Lou Beets. Betty was 62. For years my co-counsel, John Blume, and I tried to tell people about Betty's life. N

By Joseph Margulies in December 2000
Category: The Champion Magazine
Informal Opinion

Informal Opinion Elizabeth Unger Carlyle January/February 2001 51   How I Lost My First Two Clients On April 1, 1999, the Missouri Supreme Court set my client Ralph Davis's execution for April 28, 1999. The next two months were among the most intense of my life. The period ended on May 26, 1999

By Elizabeth Unger Carlyle in January/February 2001
Category: The Champion Magazine
Informal Opinion

Informal Opinion Paul C. Engh November 2001 44   On the Meaning of Proof Beyond A Reasonable Doubt It is the most dramatic moment in law. As the defendant trembles, society's interest in his continued freedom or restraint competes for the same moment. Whether there sufficient certainty in the g

By Paul C. Engh in November 2001
Category: The Champion Magazine
Informal Opinion

Informal Opinion Bobby Lee Cook September/October 2002 37   Protecting our country while preserving liberty and freedom Ladies and gentlemen, distinguished guests and colleagues. I am delighted to be in beautiful San Francisco and to be a small part of this annual meeting of NACDL — an organiza

By Bobby Lee Cook in September/October 2002
Category: The Champion Magazine
Informal Opinion

Informal Opinion Robert Perske

By Robert Perske in December 2007
Category: The Champion Magazine
Showing Page 1of 7 Pages: 1 234567
Advertisement Advertise with Us
ad