Robert C. Heeney Memorial Award

NACDL’s most prestigious award, the Robert C. Heeney Award, is given annually to the one criminal defense attorney who best exemplifies the goals and values of the Association, and the legal profession. The award was established in 1981 to honor NACDL’s 18th President, the late Robert C. Heeney, of Rockville, MD. View a list of recipients.

Lifetime Achievement Award

In recognition of exceptional accomplishments over a lifetime of distinguished leadership and service on behalf of the law, NACDL has presented Lifetime Achievement Awards to individuals. View a list of recipients.

Champion of Indigent Defense Award

The Champion of Indigent Defense Award recognizes a group or individual for outstanding efforts in making positive changes to a local, county, state, or national indigent defense system through legislation, litigation, or other methods. View a list of recipients.

Champion of State Criminal Justice Reform Award

The NACDL Champion of State Criminal Justice Reform Award recognizes an individual or group whose exceptional efforts have led toward progressive reform of a state criminal justice system. View a list of recipients.

Marshall Stern Legislative Achievement Award

In honor of the truly unique and extraordinary achievement of the late Marshall Stern in guiding the Association's legislative strategy over the years, NACDL presents its award to the member who best demonstrates commitment to the legislative arena that Mr. Stern so eloquently embodied. View a list of recipients.

Champion of Justice Awards

Champion of Justice Awards are bestowed upon those individuals who -- through legislative, legal, journalistic or humanitarian pursuits -- have staunchly preserved or defended the constitutional rights of American citizens and have endeavored to ensure justice and due process for persons accused of crime. View a list of recipients.

Judicial Recognition Award

NACDL presents its Judicial Recognition Award to acknowledge judges who demonstrate a continuing dedication to protecting democratic principles and the fundamental rights of individuals within American society. View a list of recipients.

Executive Director's Award

The Executive Director's Award is given as warranted by NACDL's Executive Director to a staff member in recognition of enduring and distinguished service to NACDL. View a list of recipients.

In This Section

Advertisement Advertise with Us